Shredded…

Today has been very productive…besides the typical “gotta do it on Saturday” stuff…I finished a big project of going through a file cabinet and desk and weeding, pitching and shredding papers.  It feels good to have the big job done.

In the middle of my mess I came across a document, a letter.  I’m not sure why I kept this particular letter where it was…amidst the envelopes of things that I need to “follow up” on…I’m not sure why I kept the letter at all…it would just pop out when I would pull the stack of papers from the desk and”follow up” on things…as a reminder.  This letter, when it was written, closed a door to life as I had known it, and opened a door to a life full of uncertainty for me and my family.  Every time the letter appeared, I was surprised…not by its contents, but by the journey God has taken me through since I first read the letter.  Every time I read it, I would fold it up and place it back with the stack ot papers…hidden in the desk.

I found that letter again today and I reread it.  I read it a second time and then….I sent it through the shredder, just like I had done with so many documents that day that were filled with personal information.  It felt good to shred that paper…not that it could hurt me anymore, but because I could see the opportunities and blessings God had placed at my feet since that letter.  I took the top off the shredder to empty it and discover that the letter had become confetti…and confetti reminds me of celebrations…so today I celebrated the life journey God has taken me on and is taking me on…bumps, valleys, mountains and floods…I hope you are celebrating your life too.

21243520i_011

One thought on “Shredded…

  1. karenpelletier says:

    Shredding is a good idea with the junk that pulls us down.

    I’m sure that it is a blessing to your heart to turn that pain into a party.

    I’m proud to call you my friend!

Leave a comment