And the word is…

I have never been one to make New Year’s Resolutions. I guess I figured if you need to change something, you don’t have to wait until the beginning of a new year. I have goals that I would like to accomplish this year, but they are not resolutions. During the last few weeks of December one particular Bible verse kept coming to mind; it is one of my favorites.

“Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us,” Ephesians 3:20 (NIV)  Every time this verse came to mind one word stuck out – the word MORE. I don’t know about anyone else, but I so often sell God short and in my finite view of things limit what I think He can do.  I began to really want to take this verse to heart and ask and believe for MORE than I could ask or imagine! Think about what that would look like.  So, I am making MORE my word for the year and claiming every word in Ephesians 3:20.  I believe that what God promises, He will do. I wonder how much I have been missing by not believing for MORE; not because I deserve it, but because He has promised to do MORE.  I am so convinced that this word is for me this year that I have had a special locket made with the word in it. It is being handcrafted by lizlamoreaux at her etsy shop and will arrive in 3-4 weeks. I’ll post a picture once it arrives.

God did much more than I imagined in a particular situation this week and He did it in light speed! I think it was His way of showing me that He really does want to do MORE in my life. I know I want to know MORE of Him, love Him MORE, serve Him MORE and live my life MORE fully than I ever have before. Hmmm – reminds me of another verse, “I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.” John 10:10b. (Ask my girls and husband about Mark Lowry’s interpretation of this verse…haha).

Ready for MORE and to live abundantly.

Leave a Reply

