God speaks – through others.

For some this will be a strange concept to grasp, for others it is part of your every day life as you are on your journey with Jesus.  I believe God speaks to us in many ways.  For me it often takes on the form of a conversation in my head where God is asking questions and I am answering or vice versa.  Other times He speaks to me through the Bible, music or something someone else has said.

I had an interesting experience last week. With John being a bi-vocational Pastor now, there are many times we feel “forgotten” and working two jobs takes its toll on him.  On Wednesday I had been praying for God to send encouragement to John in some special way.  I had also been praying about a particular situation and the conversation in my head went something like this…GOD: “Do you trust me? Do you really trust me?  Don’t you think I can bring your name to anyone’s mind at any time?  Do you trust me?”  Of course, my side of the conversation was quiet for a bit and then, ME: “Yes, I do fully trust You; help me trust You more.”

On Thursday night John shared an email he had received from someone thanking him for what he had learned from John when he was the man’s Pastor. Bingo – an answer to the prayer from Wednesday night.  THEN I opened my email.  There was a facebook note that said I had an email from someone who I had not heard from in about 30+ years.  My first thought was that their facebook account had been hacked and that this was a virus.  As I clicked on the email to ponder deleting it I realized it was an actual note from my friend.  As I read her note I began to cry.  She told me that she had been awakened during the night saying “Joy Griswold Gallagher…Joy Griswold Gallagher” (a nightmare – right).  She was amazed that she even remembered my married name since I was single the last time I saw her.  She felt God was prompting her to pray for me and wanted to let me know she had done that.  WOW!! Do you remember the conversation I had in my head?  I believe this was God’s way of letting me know that I really could trust Him to bring my name to mind to anyone He chooses.  It may not seem like much to you, but I spent the next few days just amazed at God’s tender loving care for me and my need to know that He does have things under control.  It was also a reminder to me to pray for people who come to my mind and that it might be an encouragement to them to know they have been prayed for.

What a great God we have and I am so glad that He chooses to speak to each of us in different ways.  The question becomes…are we listening and responding?

One thought on “God speaks – through others.

  1. Trenda says:

    I love this Joy and I too have experienced many times when God lays someone on my heart to pray for them or send them a note of encouragement and what a tremendous blessing I receive when I am willing to be lead by God. He knows what we need and exactly when we need it!

Leave a Reply

