Investments

While I was visiting Lindsey I went with her to a Saturday night service at Elevation Church – Matthews.  I really appreciate the passion for God and vision of Pastor Steven Furtick.  The sermon that night was on Matthew 6:33.  “But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” (NIV)  He talked about investments – all kinds of investments and how financial investments have depreciated in the last year.  He contrasted them to investments in the Kingdom of God and the great appreciation those investments make in the lives of other people as they come to know Christ.  He was right when he said we live in a world that focuses on the Kingdom of the THINGdom of BLINGdom.  Bigger is better and more is even better.  I was struck that night by thinking of the people who had made investments in my life and thanking God for how He has used me as I choose to invest in the lives of others and guide them to Him and then grow them in Him.  What Pastor Steven had to say, plus the book I am reading, have really had be sorting through my priorities. Am I investing in the right things for this time in my life?  I want to make investments that point people to Christ.  I am thankful for God’s Word that is a great investment tool.

It’s an uncertain time for our financial investments, but I pray that you have the joy of Jesus investments.

Leave a Reply

