I LOVE my job!

Yes, I am still here; just been preoccupied (no, blessed) with family time.  John and Katie have arrived in Philly and she’ll move into EU tomorrow – can’t believe my baby is a Junior in college.  Hilary has moved back in – no full time work yet, but God is really working in her life and it is exciting to see and hear all that is happening with her.  Lindsey is ready for her 4th year teaching in NC – she has kids tomorrow.

Last week was spent with teacher workdays.  I will admit to not looking forward to hearing the keynote speaker on Thursday morning – wasn’t crazy about her books (Please Stop Laughing at Me! and Please Stop Laughing at Us!).  I understood why we were asked to read them and agree that we need to approach bullying in a variety of ways; I just didn’t care for her books or approach.

God had a GREAT surprise for me!  I walked into the afternoon workshop where music was playing in the background and it sounded like we were going to have a party!  Little did I know that Anne Marie Taylor was going to usher us into a celebration of children in a way that would excite us all for the beginning of school.  Little did I know that I would be face to face with the light of Jesus in a fellow believer that was totally illuminating the room and captivating all who were listening.  She was wonderful!  I knew I’d like her when I heard her say “y’all”!  She is the 2008 SC Teacher of the Year and the first Special Ed Teacher to have that honor. In talking with her at the break I discovered what church in SC she attends and that she has recently taken on the position of Children’s Ministry leader part-time.  Woo Hoo!  Through music and many other activities she reminded us to celebrate everyone with all they bring and to serve to lead.  As I have thought about those two things this week I have realized that they apply to all we do with people in church too.  SO, I’m going to work on celebrating and serving…

Today was the first day of school and I was blessed to be with kids that I love and am looking forward to all God has in store for me at OCS this year.  To all other teachers, blessings to you as you start a new year.

Leave a Reply

