Pictures and Ponderings.

It has been a LONG time indeed since I posted anything here.  We have been to NC and back with a 2 day stop in CT.  We had a WONDERFUL visit with dear friends from Shiloh while in Union County before we headed to Blowing Rock. We enjoyed time with my family and then a few days with John’s family.  Since being home I have gotten some things done around the house that were on my “to-do” list, but time with family has taken precedence – the dirt and chores will wait.  We have finally had more than 1 day with no rain – this is Day 5!  I have had extra Eastern University Juniors at the house since Wednesday.  They have had a blast together.  I am down to 2 plus Katie now and they are all at Old Orchard Beach right now.  Tomorrow the extras will leave to go back to PA.

Things in the church are about the same. John had challenged them before we left about some “Life Transformation” Groups.  He talked about it more Sunday and explained that he would not be setting up the groups, they were to “organically” find their own groups.  Well, they did such a good job a few of the guys he was going to ask are already in a group.  Right now I have just one person in mine, but that is fine.  The purpose is to have each person in the group really searching the Scripture for what God is saying to them.  Each person in a group will read the same chapters during the week and then the group time is for discussion of what God impressed upon each one.  For whatever reason, God wants me to start in Ephesians, so when my group starts, that’s where we’ll be.

SoulFest was good, although hanging out there all day is not my thing.  I enjoyed the concerts and seeing some people, but let’s just say going a second day for 9 hours was a labor of love to my husband.  Casting Crowns and Third Day were really good though.  We basically saw Hilary long enough to hug her and that was it since SoulFest was the BIG event of her job all summer.  Today is her last day of the summer internship, only God knows where she’ll be headed next.  I know she’ll be home for a little while anyway.

I go back to work the 18th with workshops through the 20th.  The first day with kids in the 24th.  I love my job!  I do wish I’d had a few more days to just digiscrap though – didn’t get very much of that done at all.  Below are some photos from what’s been happening. Some photos are a bit blurry because we were on a train.

100_6046

John and Lindsey on the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad, Bryson City, NC.

100_6013

John really liked these floating houses on Fontana Lake.

100_6032

Going over the trestle over Fontana Dam – I really liked the texture on the bridge.

kudzu

Kudzu “towers” – a Southern staple.

100_6128

John, Mom and Lindsey on a bridge at the Nantahala Outdoor Center.

100_6119

Part of Nantahala Outdoor Center.  I want to go back there sometime, it is so cool to watch all the rafters come down through all the whitewater.

100_6130

100_6197

Melodie joined us for a week and it was her night to cook – I think Wonka thought he was supposed to help – maybe be the food tester for the king…

Melodie ligtened

She makes a mean bruscetta and peach pie – yum! Thanks Melodie!

100_6198

When in the mountains we all spend a lot of time reading.  Mom did a good bit of reading, but John had us all beat with 7 books in 2 weeks!

100_6204

Lindsey getting after her Dad for spoiling his supper…

100_6208

2 plus 2 bonus points for this picture. John, Lindsey, Me and Melodie.

100_6211

My garden when I got home.  I need to get a new picture because the vines are climbing everywhere.

5528_122398749364_745614364_3173094_5143385_n

I’m not sure when she took this, but I love the photo my friend, Kristin, took of me and John at SoulFest.

5528_122398804364_745614364_3173100_790635_n

Either I am intently worshipping at the concert I’m listening to OR I’m trying to figure out how the heavy metal, head banger sounds coming from the Inside Out Tent are really considered music ;0).

Off to digiscrap.  Hope you are having a wonderful summer.

Leave a Reply

