HAPPY ANNIVERSARY TO US!!! 30 YEARS TODAY!

First, and most important…

dunia-morethanwords-quickpagebyloreta

God has blessed me…for 30 years and beyond!

I have been busy planting a garden, workshops and life in general lately.  I am using Mel Bartholomew’s Square Foot Gardening method this year because everything else I have tried in our BACKyard has not worked.  Here are some shots of the work in progress in the side of our FRONTyard.

100_5963

100_5965

I need to take some pictures later this week because things have changed/grown.  I am amazed by the comments I get from people at school.  I live on one of the main routes to school so people see it.  It does look neat and clean and I like that.  I have spent more time planting flowers and making hanging baskets.  I will be honest, for the past few years I have not planted anything other than a few herbs.  For the past few years I thought we would be moving, so why bother to plant anything; then I would regret not having fresh veggies or flowers.  It’s taken 7 years, (guess I’m a slower learner), but I decided to plant the garden and flowers and I feel really good about it.  We have done some work on the exterior of the house, plus a friend painted on top of what we had primed.  The deck floor is finally up.  Interesting story on that one.  2 weeks ago a few men and one woman from church dug cement piers(?) for the deck base.  John had dug the interior ones and the others were to dig the exterior and fill them with cement. (Later discovered they had dug one 10″ off line of the others…oops!) The rest of the week was spent watching cement dry. The Sunday after the holes had been dug there was a man in church (first time there) and heard about the deck project.  He told John he would come help – said he was a carpenter by trade! (Thank you God!)  Saturday came and not only was this guy there, his father, a builder, came too!!!  God sent us carpenter angels!  Thanks to Pete and Emo (Emile).  When they finished the floor Saturday they asked, “So when are we finishing this?”  After 2 years of waiting for the church trustees to get the deck built, John finally started without them and God provided non-Christians with carpentry skills to fill our need.  God is good!  I’ll get pictures up after the project is finished.

A girl update:  Lindsey is done with school on Friday (I have to go through the 23rd!)  Budget cuts are meaning changes in her school district…as far as we know she still has a job. Her cousin, Erin, is flying in to visit her for a week later this month.  Hilary is working for SOULFEST.  She is Assistant Director of Artist/Public Relations.  She turns 22 on Thursday – we are going to see her Friday for supper.  Katie is busy working at Danforth Bay and taking 2 classes.  She is taking Biology Monday and Wednesday nights through White Mountain Community College in Conway and is taking a Grad Course as an Undergrad through Eastern University online (so far she has gotten a 100 on every paper she has written for that class – you go girl!).

John and I had a turkey dinner at the house with Katie tonight.  I have to go to Conway tomorrow after school, so we are going to go celebrate our anniversary then.  God is so good – He provides in ways we can’t imagine – He blesses beyond what we deserve.  How great is our God!

3 thoughts on “HAPPY ANNIVERSARY TO US!!! 30 YEARS TODAY!

  1. Hilary says:

    I want to see pictures of the deck!!!!

  2. Linda P says:

    CONGRATULATIONS on 30 years down and lots more to go. You are an inspiration. Turkey dinner sounds like a good way to celebrate – now, I’m hungry.

    I can’t wait to see more pictures of the garden. What you posted looks good. I like the square foot gardening method, but have never used it, since I had more than enough room for lots and lots and lots. We did use the chicken wire gardening method – where you surround every garden with chicken wire so that you get the food instead of the chickens. I haven’t gardened in several years since we expect to move soon. We left a beautiful veggie garden in Maine, and I was so disappointed.

    Can’t wait to see pictures of the deck. Isn’t God even more than amazing?!

  3. Mother says:

    The garden looks interesting. Quite different from the raised beds I had in Charlotte

Leave a Reply

