A Week of Memories…

I have been busy (the lack of posting shows that), but it’s been a good busy.  One Voice is going well, I’m also helping a little with a play at school for Grades 4-6 and life is just life.  This week I enjoyed some memories…not of things my kids did at school, but memories from MY childhood. I am constantly amazed by the things buried in our brains that surface sometimes.

We had the privilege of hearing Calico Winds at school this week.  I loved hearing the instruments and the kids enjoyed it.  They played a section of “Peter and the Wolf”.  I remember my parents piping the music into my bedroom some nights (I know, not really lullaby music).  I loved listening as the instruments depicted the different characters in the “story”.  Thanks Mom, for teaching me to play the piano and instilling a love for music into my life.

Hmm…that reminds me of the time Mom made Dad, Melodie and me go with her to a concert that was all in Latin.  I was taking Latin in High School at the time and she figured I could translate for all of us…right…so when it was over she smiled and said, “Now you have had your dose of “culture” for the year?”

John wrote about a line in a song this week…”Oh to grace how great a debtor…” It’s the beginning of the 3rd verse of “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing”.  It reminded me of the beginning of the 2nd verse which says, “Here I raise my Ebenezer, hither by they help I’m come.  And I hope by Thy good pleasure, safely to arrive at home..”  My Dad often raised his head, looking toward Heaven when he sang.  We sang this song many times in church when I was a kid.  I will never forget when years later when Mark Balser told me that when we sang that verse in church and Dad lifted his head, he thought that an “Ebenezer” was your nose!  It wasn’t until he was older he understood it was a memorial stone or marker in the Bible and the symbolism of what that meant in the song.  Now THAT is what I think about when I hear that song.

Mom taught Sunday School for as long as I can remember.  When we were kids she would teach all of us songs that helped us remember things.  I think the first song she had us  memorized to sing in church was “He Lives”.  I am working with One Voice and in one scene I have my 12 disciples.  On the way home tonight I started singing…”There were 12 disciples Jesus called to help Him, Simon Peter, Andrew, James, his brother John, Phillip, Thomas, Matthew, James the son of Alphaeus, Simon, Thaddeus, Judas and Bartholomew.  He has called us too, He has called us too, We are His disciples, I am one and you.  He has called us too, He has called us too.  We are His disciples, we His work must do.”  I haven’t thought about that song in YEARS.  Although I’m not sure of the significance of knowing all those names…but the reminder that we ARE His disciples and are here to do HIS work is a good one…so thanks again, Mom.

In other news…

duke-color-logo

Headed to the Sweet Sixteen in Boston – next game Thursday!!! GO DUKE!!!

One thought on “A Week of Memories…

  1. Erica says:

    My 3 1/2 year old Kayleigh loves “He Has Called Us Too. We have 3 little ones: Malachi 4 1/2, Kayleigh and Selah is 2. The older 2 sleep in the same room and fall asleep listening to a 30 songs cd of chilren’s Christian music. We can hear Kayleigh singing from our bedroom and think it’s so cool that she’s learning the names of the 12 disciples. I did a search for “He has called us too” and that’s how I came across your blog. It’s funny how some things we learned as kids stick with us for a long time!

Leave a Reply

