Out of the mouths of babes…

On Friday afternoons the 2nd graders at my school watch Reading Rainbow.  This week it was a great segment with author and illustrator Jim Arnosky.  In one segment there were raccoons fishing.  The child I was with looked up at me and said, “Dad’s going to take me fishing in the Spring!” Before I could respond he said, “Does your Dad take you fishing?”  I smiled and said, “No, my Dad doesn’t?”  He then said, “Why?” and I told him, “because he passed away a few years ago.”  He looked at me for a few seconds and said, “Well, when he comes back to life he could take you…”  and gave me a big hug.  I know this child has no idea what the return of Christ means and what a joyous reunion I will have with my Dad.  Will we go fishing? I doubt it, but we’ll have time together and most importantly I’ll see Jesus.  I was reminded that I need to be expectantly awaiting the return of Christ, just like this child is excited about Spring and going fishing with his dad.  (On another note, Spring is a LONG way away from here – we got 12+ inches of snow today!  I guess they could go ICE fishing…)

Leave a Reply

