Feeling Like November…

The weather has cooled off and it is raining right now…it was spitting snow Tuesday and a little bit this afternoon.  It will be here soon enough.  I feel like this month is flying by and soon it will be Christmas.  I want the holidays to come because all the girls will be home, yet I don’t want it to come too fast.  Lindsey is already listening to Christmas music…she has always loved Christmas and begins playing music after her birthday (Oct. 31).

Even though I have been busy with work and One Voice, I signed up for a free online class offered by Jessica Sprague called Stories in Hand.  The title intrigued me…I do a good job of scrapbooking our family photos and do some journaling, but am realizing I don’t always tell enough of the story.  She has designed a system for helping people remember and preserve those memories.  This week has been a lot of preparation of materials.  The class started Monday, but I didn’t get to print anything out until today and will put it all together tomorrow night.  As things were printing I began thinking about memories, good and bad, I have of all my family memories.  Like:

  • John – calling my Dad and asking if he could marry me and my Dad joking and saying, “Yes, but there had better be no red-headed babies…”  Dad was convinced that Irishmen had red hair, and of course Hilary had strawberry blonde hair when she was little
  • Lindsey – besides, almost dying on us, hating change of any kind…when she was about 5 we rearranged the furniture in her bedroom and she fussed and complained for a few days.  She hated change so much that when we went to town to do errands she’d ask where we were going and I’d recite the list…if I did not go to those places in that order she’d say, “You lied to me, you said we were going here and here and here…”  Oh my…
  • Hilary – crawling under my bed with Katie and cutting Katie’s hair – going outside after Hurricane Hugo and lapping water out of a mud puddle with a stray border collie that showed up in our yard…and then there are the constant silly faces
  • Katie – following Hilary (ReeRee) wherever she went (until she got about 5…) and doing whatever Hil told her to (sounds like trouble to me) – sliding down the front stairs on her belly and hitting the front door full face (still not sure how she didn’t break her nose OR have bruising…)

Many more stories to be remembered…I started handwritten books for the girls when I was laid up for 6 months with a broken leg…but they were never finished.  With my laptop I should be able to do this much faster and am looking forward to telling the story of our family…I have a feeling there will be many pages of just journaling to eventually end up in our scrapbooks.  So thank you Jessica Sprague for your wonderful gift.

Speaking of gifts, through an RSS feed I get I saw that Snapfish and Oprah have teamed up to give free 8-1/2 x 11 photo books!  You got that right – you pay the $6.99 s/h.  The catch is you have to sign up for the coupon before midnight 11/14 and have your photos uploaded and book done before midnight 11/16.  So, if you have the time in the next few days…go for it!

Happy Thursday everyone and savor the memories (good and bad) of your life!

Oh yeah, Hil has been doing PR for ENC’s version of American Idol (NAZZY IDOL).  Here is her photo, even though she isn’t a participant she wanted to take advantage of the lighting…

n149000086_30440210_1901

Like I said, the constant faces…she just called and is on the way to a Walk-In clinic with throat issues (I’m wondering if it is strep…pray).  Also, here’s a new picture of Katie swing dancing outside…

n1328040093_30047244_4376

Sorry Linds…you need to get someone to take some pictures of you for me…

The End…really this time!

Leave a Reply

