What was I thinking?

John went fishing on Chocorua Lake this AM and then after lunch we head to Gorham. I had never been up the Mt. Washington Auto Road, so we decided today was the day…oh boy…Halfway up I decided the White Pass and Yukon Railroad in Alaska was a piece of cake compared to this. I am not afraid of heights, but let’s just say I was “anxious” in a few spots. What was I thinking? Mt. Washington is 6,288 feet high and we drove our car to the top. Neither of us thought to bring a jacket, (what were we thinking?), so when we reached the summit John stayed in the car.it was cold and VERY windy – 40+mph gusts. I did get out and took a few pictures (what was I thinking?), but was glad to get back in and head down. There were times I had the window open, camera around my neck, leaning into John (away from the edge – like that was going to protect me) holding the camera up in the air and shooting pictures – I did not want to look down. Below are some of the pictures.

We drove up to the top of the mountain on the left.

One of the “I’m not looking” photos.

Mt. Washington Observatory

View from the top looking towards Conway.

Glen trails.

The Cog Railway at the top of the mountain.

And if all of that wasn’t enough excitement, I made a LARGE ebay purchase. A hacker messed John’s ebay up a few years ago, so he shut it down. Whenever he needs/wants something we use my ebay. Below is my purchase…hmmm…wonder who will be using this? What was I thinking???

1986 Suzuki Cavalcade 1400 Touring Bike. It replaces the one he sold a few years ago and the price was right. (What was I thinking?!?)

I hope you had a great Labor Day…first day of school tomorrow!

3 thoughts on “What was I thinking?

  1. Karen says:

    Oh Joy! You are a much braver lady than I am! I do NOT like heights… but the bike looks like a GREAT TIME! Tony and I have often talked about one, but…. not with all of the kids at home… LOL

    Have a great first day of school!

  2. Pam Speewing says:

    You DID GET IT! It’s really nice.
    Love the queen seat; you’ll both be comfy.
    Steve looks like a 12-year old on the bike he’s looking at. Vewy scawy….
    He’ll need to practice before I ride with him! (If he gets the bike. He takes his time making up his mind…)

  3. Pam Speewing says:

    PS: Love the pics! Very nice….

Leave a Reply

