Where has the summer gone?

I can’t believe it is almost September! It was a busy summer with a trip to Alaska and North Carolina. (Speaking of Alaska – GO SARAH PALIN!!!!!).  Katie was home for the summer and worked two jobs. Hilary was in Boston doing an internship with WGBH (although she did come home a few weekends) and Lindsey was in NC enjoying the summer break from teaching.  Hilary is back at Eastern Nazarene College in Quincy, MA working with Student Government and waiting for classes to begin next week. Katie arrived at Eastern University in St. Davids, PA on Monday PM and started classes Wednesday. I had workshops Tuesday and 1/2 day Wednesday and school starts on Sept. 2. I will be working in 5th Grade in the morning and 2nd Grade in the afternoon this year. ALSO, I will not be a recess proctor this year which means I won’t have to spend an hour outside in the freezing cold winter!

I took time today to clean out a few closets and rearrange some things. When I was in Katie’s room I found this painting. I knew she was working on it, I just didn’t know it was finished. I took the picture with my phone, so it isn’t the best…but those of you that have known me for a long time will recognize this person…

For those who don’t know…this is my Dad.  Nice job Katie, you can see that twinkle in his eyes…he would have been proud of you!

Well, I need to go start the grill – some maple glazed salmon is calling. Have a great LONG weekend and rest from your labor on LABOR DAY!

Leave a Reply

