Let’s Party…

A few weeks ago we went to a concert by the Sky Family, “Fiery Faith and Fiddles.” The concert was wonderful (picture Christian Riverdance with a strong gospel message), but what caught my attention was how the man prayed. He invited God into our presence and called Him the “life of the party”. I had never heard anyone call God that, but it is so true – that is what He is. If I fully believe He is the life of the party, then why don’t I always live my life as if I am enjoying a party?

Last week I was listening to the new MercyMe CD and the song, “All right” caught my attention. The lyrics remind of us of a LOVE that never lets us go even on our worst days when we feel the world is crashing in around us. The tune is extremely catchy, but what grabbed me was the line at the end…it starts quietly then builds….”Count it pure joy when your world comes crashing, hold your head up and keep on dancing… Count it pure joy when your world comes crashing, hold your head up and keep on dancing…. Count it pure joy when your world comes crashing, hold your head up and keep on dancing…”

I began to put the two things together…God is the life of the party and at a party you dance. I will admit I am not a “dancer” (although I did dance in a hippo costume on stage one time…), but I do dance to the Lord when I’m home alone.  I also know what it is to have trials, (don’t we all), and I struggle with doing what James 1 says, “Count it all joy when you face trials of many kinds…” I don’t know about you, but I don’t enjoy trials of any kind.

So, what have I been reminded of this week…

–Live life like I’m God’s date to the party.
–When I have trials (great or small), hold my head up and DANCE.
–Remember that the greatest dance partner, the “life of the party“, is right there beside me ready to lead…

DANCE THE DANCE OF LIFE!

Leave a Reply

