I know the plans I have for you…

A situation which would have put John back in full-time ministry fell apart today. I should be thankful because all week I had been praying, “if this isn’t what You want God…stop it…”, but right now it feels like a kick in the teeth. All indications for all meetings seemed to be that we and the church were on the same page. I’m not sure what happened in the last 2 weeks, but we are not moving.

I am thankful if it meant pain and sorrow ahead, I just wish it had been headed off weeks ago…and not at the last moment. So, I am trying (struggling) to praise God through this. I know that He is in control. I am clinging to Jeremiah 29:11, “‘I know the plans I have for you, ‘ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future…'” This verse carried me through a VERY difficult time in my life…I remember walking around the house saying, “I know the plans I have for you, I know the plans I have for you, I know the plans I have for you…” Just writing this and remembering what He has brought me through gives me peace, faith and hope.

What now for us? I do not know…what I do know is I have a husband who loves me, three beautiful daughters, a house to live in, a church family who loves me, and a job I love…and a heavenly Father who loves and care for me like no other.  These things I am confident of, even when I don’t understand other things in life.

For those who knew what was happening in our lives and had been praying, thank you. Please do not stop praying for us as we re-evaluate what God is saying in all of this. Thanks for listening – you are great sounding boards…

3 thoughts on “I know the plans I have for you…

  1. caffeinatedimpressions says:

    I’m moving on to believing your trip at the end of June will be very pivotal in whatever decision you come to…

  2. joyinhim says:

    So…now I’m moving to Alaska??? Hmmm…I just told your Dad I’d do whatever he wanted to do….except move to Alaska….hahahaha

  3. I am sad that (for now) you will remain where you are. You know why! Praying is still hard for me, but I will remember you before our heavenly father when I do!
    BDM

Leave a Reply

