He is not here…He is risen…

My friend, Becky, calls today Resurrection Sunday or Resurrection Day. What a gift to know that Jesus Christ has conquered death. Some day the family of Christ will be together with Him and there will be no more death, no more tears, no more sadness because He is no longer in the tomb, but has risen.

We had an early COLD sunrise service on top of Ossipee Mountain and about 25+ people there. Katie’s friend, Alex came and his Mom. They also came for the breakfast at the church; that was nice. After the breakfast Katie and I came home, got a few things ready to go in the oven for lunch, changed clothes and zipped back to church. It was a nice service – we really do have a great Pastor…think I’ll follow him wherever he goes…

Katie and I came home after church to get the turkey fryer going only to find out that the housing for the heating element was cracked and I wasn’t getting power! We could hold it in place, but it wouldn’t stay. I tried duct taping it, but it still didn’t work. I put in a quick SOS call to John before he started teaching Sunday School only to discover that just about everyone was leaving for Easter dinners, so they weren’t going to have Sunday School. He came home, we found a way to duct tape it and saved the day.  I did have a ham in th oven, but 2 of the people we were having for dinner couldn’t have the salt in ham…thus the fried turkey. Katie was a great help and made the terrific asparagus roll up appetizers.  While I finished getting things ready, (ham, turkey, hash brown potato bake, spinach salad with strawberries, blueberries and kiwi, carrots and rolls and my Aunt Mary’s famous 3 Day Coconut Cake), the gang played with the Wii.  We had a nice lunch and the 8 of us enjoyed laughing with and at each other.

When everyone left and the first run of the dishwasher was running the three of us fell asleep. John and I woke up around 5:30 and caught the end of the “Longest Yard Sale” on HGTV.  We have decided we want to go to that some year.  It starts in Defiance, Ohio and ends in Gadsden, Alabama – 630 miles for 4 days!  Wouldn’t that be a great road trip with friends?!? It reminded me of when we lived in Illinois and would do the Spoon River Drive in the fall with people from the church. It was crafts, antiques, yard sales, food as you followed the river through the different towns.

Tomorrow I’ll be taking Katie back to the airport to fly back to Philly. John will have to go pick her up, stuff and all, May 10th. Hilary and Andrew will go back to ENC tomorrow and Lindsey has the week off from teaching.

I hope you had a wonderful Easter Day!

One thought on “He is not here…He is risen…

  1. fantacy says:

    🙂 sounds like a truly blessed Sunday! Every year I say I am going to go to the longest yard sale, but I have yet to go through with it hahaha. I am a yard sale junkie! I am praying Katie, Hilary, and Andrew all get back to their respective destinations full of food, grace, and new memories!
    Hugs!
    Fantacy

Leave a Reply

