Daily Archives: January 9, 2007

Am I Late…and another sad day…

I checked the DSP prompt this AM…am I late or on time and do I get irritated when others are late…

I am usually on time or early (I noticed being “early” was not one of the choices – does that say something about out society?). I used to get irritated when people were late, but have gotten more flexible as I’ve “aged”. I have a friend who was a missionary to the Philippines for almost 40 years. When my dh went there to teach for 2 weeks she explained that 2 hours late is “on time: for Filipinos – that way he’d be prepared for their being “on time”. One of this woman’s sisters is a dear friend and she is ALWAYS late. The joke became that Martha was always on Filipino time (LOL).

I found out another friend is leaving the school where I work; not under favorable conditions. It makes me wonder what is going on. I have to remember God is in control, even when I don’t like what I see happening around me.

Sad Day…

We had ice and snow this AM, so there was a 2 hour delay for school…I must say I enjoyed that. The kids were supposed to start the winter sports program (skiing, snowshoeing, skating) today, but it poured rain. That will be put off two weeks because of the holiday next Monday. One of the teachers I work with had not been back to school since the Christmas break. Last week I assumed she was sick, but when I asked on Friday the secretary said no. I found out this afternoon that she is not coming back to school. I get the sense that it may not have been her choice. I don’t quite understand that; she has been at this school at least 10 years. What about all the kids that will never get to tell her good-bye? What about me – I didn’t get to say goodbye… I want to send a card; guess all I can say is “I miss you”. I don’t understand school politics sometimes.

I made a Red Velvet Pound Cake last night, so think I’ll go have a piece with some milk and read for a bit. Enough rambling for today…